Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Best cardio exercise for Krav

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    philly63

Hello all,
    new member here with a question.Ive been taking Krav for a little over a year and i’m getting ready for my upcoming orange belt test.I’ve been running 7-12 mile obstacle course races for the last 6 years or so and thought i was prepared for the yellow belt test,cardio wise any way.Boy was I wrong!It kicked my ass,almost to the point that i was ready to quit,but my fellow students pushed me through.This time i’ve been doing interval running to prepare(sprint 45 seconds,jog 2 minutes,repeat for 3 miles),hoping i’ll be better prepared for the orange.Just wondering what works for you guys.Thanks in advance

wiccaman

Re: Best cardio exercise for Krav

I’m sure there’ll be plenty of more knowledgeable people than me along in a minute to give very good advice.

I however subscribe to the view that the best exercise for fighters is fighting.

We of course do some cardio work in exercise form. I’m one of those people though who finds exercise abhorrent unless it is ancillary to something I enjoy in its own right.

We find the best way of beasting is just to keep people under pressure and make them force themselves past what they thought was unendurable.

So for example, last class we just got one or two people to lie face down on the floor with someone sat on top of them. Another dozen people crowded round them. All the the ‘victim’ then had to do was to get up and get out of the door.

Nice and simple and a useful practical demonstration of what it might be like in a real scenario.

We did this non stop for 90 minutes. Even when you weren’t the victim you were one of the attackers trying to stop the person getting up or getting to the door.