Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Law Enforcement & Military Use of force and case law.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    five04zog

Hi all,

I’m new to the forum but think I have a post that may be interesting to the non-L.E. or criminal justice students with questions about use of force. It seems a lot of people have questions/comments about police use of force.

A little about me…
    I’ve been in law enforcement for 17 years. I’m a field going LEO, FTO and Defensive tactics instructor for my agency. I’ve been training martial arts (on/off) since I was 16 yrs. old (now 44- I feel old). I’ve studied Kajukenbo, Aikido, Hapkido (1st Dan) and I’ve been training BJJ for the last two years. I’ve just now started looking at Krav Maga and plan to jump in with both feet. It looks like a great system.

Now back on topic. Every department/agency has a use of force policy/regulations that their officers/agents must follow. These policies will take case law and likely add restrictions or attempt to quantify/break down these case laws into steps/policy (continuum of force) for the officers to follow. This can be unfortunate in some cases and can complicate things for LEO’s in the field.

The BIG case law in question is Graham v. Connor. Other cases of interest are Tennessee v. Garner and Scott v. Harris. The Supreme Court has established that Graham v. Connor is the umbrella case law that should guide use when we need to use force and help us formulate an “objective test”.

What is the Objective Test? The Court stated that, “The reasonableness of a particular use of force must be judged from the perspective of a reasonable officer on the scene, rather than with the 20/20 vision of hindsight.” The objective test requires the court to envision a reasonable officer and ask this question: Based on the totality of the facts and circumstances, could such an officer believe that the force was reasonable?