Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    revobuzz

Does it matter if the book you buy is not from the organisation your class is?

What I mean is if I’m a beginner and I buy a book written by a KMW member but I train at an IKMF school does it really matter? Do the basics vary that much?

bear34

Re: Books and Organisations

quote revobuzz:

Does it matter if the book you buy is not from the organisation your class is?

What I mean is if I’m a beginner and I buy a book written by a KMW member but I train at an IKMF school does it really matter? Do the basics vary that much?

I train with IKMF as well and it is my opinion that you should get information from any reputable org. that it is available from. I have looked through the KMW books and they are quite good. The techniques are identical in many cases but the levels at which you learn them is quite different.
    I am hoping that my wife and daughter get me the David Kahn (IKMA) Mastering Krav Maga DVDs for Christmas. They look excellent from what I have seen although some of the techniques they show look quite different to my novice eyes.

kmyoshi

The techniques will probably vary slightly but the principle will be the same. I suggest getting the book from your organization as they’ll be teaching what is in the book. It’ll help you better when you’re at home trying to break down what was taught in class but I don’t think it would do any harm learning/knowing what the other organizations are teaching and pick which one suits you best.

lennykravitz

I would get as much reputable information from trusted organizations. It doesn’t matter if it’s ikmf, KMWW, ikma or kmg — If it’s good, it’s good.