Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Welcome Forums brand new, western MA

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    hammy48

I am from western MA and have taken one class at Brian McDonald’s academy and am now taking classes at MAI in Canton, CT. I really like Krav so far! I have some Judo/wrestling background. I was wondering how many (hypothetical or real or w/e) Krav Maga trained people end up with their fight on the ground… you always here these staggering statistics about how many fights end up on the ground, and I wonder if that changes if you know Krav. Seems to me that in Krav the goal is that the person is 😛 by the time they hit the ground. I am thinking a while down the road I might take some BJJ… just wondering what you guys think of all of it. Thanks!

mara-jade

Re: brand new, western MA

Welcome Hammy!

I don’t have any stats for you but really it’s gonna depend on the situation. I’m sure in your classes you’re learning being on the ground is THE last place you wanna be.

I’ve read here people can do well in KM whether they’ve had prior martial arts experience or not. Complimenting KM with something else you can certainly do if you wantthumbsup

Best of luck in your training:wav:

hammy48

thanks! That is basically what I thought… it is hard to run from the ground… even if you are on top and have surpassed their guard (so long as they are conscious!); and striking and then running seems to be the basic principal of Krav.

mara-jade

The ground is the last place you wanna be BUT if you end up there, get the heck out of there as quickly as possible! KM does provides techniques for groundfighting, so you’re not left wondering ‘NOW WHAT’??

I’ve loved my training and I just hope I never have to use it.

hammy48