Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums KM Techniques & Krav Maga Books Do the Inside Defense (Straight Punch Block) really work?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    mestizomad

Hi there,

I have been doing Krav for a short while now, so I am no expert. I have been taught about Inside defense and blocking or slapping/diverting straight punches.

However, when i practice this technique at full proper speed, i can almost never block, slap or divert a straight punch away. My training partner just punches way too fast, i cant even move my head out the way in time, im just not fast enough. So i just keep thinking would this technique REALLY work in a real fight, or does it only work when training at half speed.

Also, my own straight punches are extremely fast, and i have also gone straight through peoples inside defense or blocks on many occasions during full speed practice. I just cannot favom me having reflexes fast enough to be able to simply slap off or divert a punch like that.

Any and all advice welcome,

Thanks

tzrider

Re: Do the Inside Defense (Straight Punch Block) really work?

The defenses work at full speed. Reaction times will be affected by how quickly you can see the attack and recognize what it is and how ingrained the technique is for you. Early in your training, these things take a little more attention, but with repetition, you get faster and faster.

Other factors are distance to your opponent and how your hands are positioned. If your hands are too far apart, it takes a little more time to perform the defense. If your opponent is already in range, he can strike faster than if he must burst in a bit.

kmyoshi