Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    anonymous

My intentions for learning Krav Maga are twofold. 1) personal self defense and more importantly 2) I want to be able to teach others to defend themselves. Especially those that predators would deem as weaker.

I came across an organization called Women’s self defense institute and in particular a program called Fight Like a Girl. The principles of which seem to mesh considerably with the basic premise of Krav.

I find infinite value in Krav in that I, myself, being a beginner can convey the concepts enough to teach others the basics of certain moves even at this point. Perfect example, in my daily life I am a personal strength trainer and have incorporated basic fight tactics – punches, bag work, etc, for years, into my clients programs. Yesterday, I took about 5 minutes with one of my 58 year old female clients and worked with her on a headlock from the side escape.

The value of which I find to be extremely high. Though not as thorough as I would someday like it to be, I am confident that even with 5 minutes of training she is now more capable to react to the side headlock situation. Just having the concepts tucked in the back of the head may give her enough knowledge to benefit her in the future.

On the personal side, my goals with this are extremely close to home as I have two little girls that I will teach everything I learn. They will not be conditioned to be victims and they will not be easy targets.

Anyway, after my rambling tome, my question is; does anybody have experience with the Fight Like a Girl program and if so, what are your opinions.

thanks for your time, it is truly appreciated.
    rp

maskedkat

I’ve never heard of it, but I love the concept! Damn, I gotta get a t-shirt now that says WARNING: I FIGHT LIKE A GIRL!

Do you have the website?

anonymous

http://www.rapeescape.com/

This is the main site and it has a link within it.

rp

anonymous