Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics have question about suitability of krav maga

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    seeker

Hello –

I am considering enrolling in an introductory level krav maga course. I have no prior martial arts experience. My interests are general fitness and to some level of \”practical self defense\” training. I am very impressed by the material I’ve seen on this board and elsewhere about K.M.

The question I have has to do with the character / nature of this sport and its suitability for me personally. Unfortunately I suffer from rheumatoid arthritis – however it is not disabling enough that it prevents me from a reasonably normal daily life. The symptoms I have from RA are mostly sensory in nature with some joint pains, etc. and a sometimes-limp that are excascerbated by overly strenous physical activity such as running, aerobics, etc. But as long as I can keep my body temp down things are pretty OK. And, I have had some degree of muscle atrophy from it, this is actually why I’m looking at K.M. as a possible \”get in shape\” regimen. In other words I’m not as strong or as fit as my age, body type and size would otherwise imply to the average observer.

So here’s the question: what level of physical contact occurs in the sparring exercises, how aerobically strenuous is this form, etc.? How \”friendly\” is the culture of K.M. towards less physically able people in general? To contrast, some martial arts like tae kwando, bjj, etc. seem VERY high energy, full-contact, and sparring oriented, breaking boards and bricks with hands/feet etc. Also, from what I’ve seen some of the instructors have a poor attitude towards the less physically fit – at least to me their attitude and demeanor has seemed intimidating to me as they seem to emphasize \”survival of the fittest\”.