Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Personal Gear Discussion home defense weapons

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    crazy-train

this may have been talked about in another thread, so please excuse me if it has.

i figured with the wealth of knowledge on these forums, this would be the best place to go for a few opinions and answers. a friend of mine has bought his first house and is looking into some home defense. i suggested a shotgun because of the simple point and click interface and the large area it can cover especially under stress and other factors that may be involved. he isn’t partial to that idea, he doesn’t want collateral damage to his walls :/. so i suggested he may want to look into a 9mm with hollow points, figuring the hollow points are less likely to do as much damage to his walls.

i’m no expert on fire arms, my expertise ends at a basic understanding of how they work and being able to shoot them down range and would appreciate any input available.

stevetuna

Re: home defense weapons

I’m a fan of the shotgun. It’s tough for someone to argue with one. I suspect that I could jump up from my little ol’ chair right now and latch on to a Mossberg pump with a Surefire light on the rail within three or so seconds.

Of course I still have a bad leg, otherwise I’d have it in two…

crazy-train

i hear ya on the shotgun, and i just can’t convince him otherwise. i consulted my dad, and he agrees with the shotgun idea. he also agreed with the 9mm hollow point alternative with his reasoning being that it is a smaller round with less recoil than a .40+ caliber, making it easier to acquire the target. and with his current room mate being female, that a 9mm may be less intimidating than a shotgun.

russell