Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics I’m bored in Level 1- help!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Hey all-
    I recently started in Krav Maga. I’ve been interested in it for years but up until recently, hadn’t found a school/instructor in my area that I liked. For the last few years I’ve been doing Thai boxing, some mixed combatives training that was systema- based, as well as studying and researching combatives systems and instructors on my own.
    I really like Krav, and I know there is a lot I can learn from it, but I am honestly bored out of my mind in level 1. I’m not trying to be arrogant- I don’t think I’m a badass or a ninja or something. But I am also not a beginner. I try to use the partner time to experiment with stuff that is new to me- maybe a particular clinch or takedown that I’ve been researching, even a Krav technique (for example- If we’re drilling a choke defense, following it up with face/head controlls to achieve chest-to-back position- aka Nir Maman) but it still ends up frustrating my training partners- most of whom are beginners. In order to not be a bully, I feel like i have to exercise so much restraint that I am not stimulated by training.
    My question is- for someone who comes into Krav Maga with previous martial arts or combatives training- how can I keep my self interested and learn in level 1 while benefiting my training partners and not acting like a show-off?
    Thank you for your help!

snowman

Re: I’m bored in Level 1- help!

How long have you been doing level 1? Do you feel you are proficient in level 1? If you feel you are proficient ask your instructor if they feel your are ready to test out. Have you watched a level 2 class and feel you have something to learn?

unstpabl1

I’ve never been bored in a martial art class. Maybe you should move on to something else where you won’t bore yourself.