Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics IKMF INSTRUCTOR TRAINING- WHATS IT LIKE?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hi List

Has anybody done an IKMF Instructors course under Eyal ?

I start the instructors course the end of feb and am really interested in waht the course is like. Ispoke with 2 people about the course, (both of whom hav passed through it) 1 said its just lots of repitition nothing special, another said (quote) 24 days of blood and snot.

I am really eager to start, (nervous too 🙄 ) and wanted to find out as much as I could before hand. Any tips, or hints???

What is the fitness requirement like ?

I am a wing chun/jkd instructor, 41 years old and teach 3 to 4 times aweek.

Any helps or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Somerset!

I went through the IKMF instructor training in 98. I assume it is more or less the same nowadays.
    The training consists of techichal training and a lot of the emphasis is put on how to teach the techniques, what are the most common mistakes and how to correct them. There will be some padwork and sparring/grappling also but when you train for 8hrs a day you can’t go all out all the time for many weeks you know?
    There are also lectures on first aid, teaching, marketing etc. You will also hold classes to other instructors and your teaching abilities will be constantly evaluated.

I wouldn’t worry too much about the fitness side. Although it definitely is harder than watching tv for example the point of the course is not to turn you into a triathlonist but to make you a good instructor.

Instructor Training

Hi 😆

I have been teaching around 14 years and wanted something new, a new direction I guess. In this day and age its also nice to get a training qualification as a blackbelt or instructor registration is often worth little now.