Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    dave-bluestein

After reading some of the recent threads, I felt the need to chime in.

First, a quick introduction. As you can see from the post, my name is Dave Bluestein. I have been training in Krav Maga for over 23 years, and am one of Darren Levine’s students. I have been teaching for 15 years and have had the honor of working with several of the top instructors in both KMWW and IKMF. Jarret Waldman and I spent several weeks in Israel training with Imi, Eyal, Gabi, Eli and several other instructors. As with most of the Krav Maga instructors in Los Angeles, teaching Krav is a secondary job / hobby. I currently teach classes in Sherman Oaks, CA. I am a full time Law Enforcement Officer, as well as a father of a 2 year old boy.

While I do read the forum on a daily basis, I dont have time to read everything and respond to posts. As a moderator and senior instructor, I am more than willing to respond to questions, time permitting. I dont profess to know all, but I am happy to give opinions on exercises, techniques or other Krav related stuff.

Regarding the shake up in the leadership of Krav Maga Worldwide, I am a friend of John Whitman’s as well. He dedicated his life to Krav, its students and instructors. I respect him tremendously as a person and instructor. I am still hoping that he will decide to return as an instructor, as I fell that many people, including myself, can and will learn from him. With that said, I have been in Krav for 23 years and have seen students and instructors come and go. What remains constant though, is Krav Maga. It is bigger than any one person. If I stopped teaching tomorrow, it would still go on and students will still train.