Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Is boxing as a class drill useful?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    111knightave

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to KM and have just started training.

In my last class, after practicing self defense techniques, we were asked to put gloves on and box. Most of the people in my class are much taller and heavier than me, (5″9 VS 6″2+) and have been training for longer than I have, and while I landed a few good shots during the drill, I struggled, and took a lot of pretty hard punches.

I’d just like to get a couple of opinions on how useful an exercise like that is, and what it teaches me? I understand when you fight yout can’t choose the opponent but in that situation I would never stand up and try to box someone who is that different in size than me! It seemed like I was just getting beat up and I wasn’t sure what to take from it.

Any help or tips etc would be really appreciated.

Thanks guys

kmyoshi