Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics KM in a real situation?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    kazak4x4

I am pretty new to KM (4 months), but love every minute of it! What I am wondering is all this training, does it pay off in a real situation?

I was curious to hear from people who actually used Krav in the streets. Did you panic? Did your body remember the drills and executions? Was your mindset strong? Were you able to block punches/kicks as good as in practice?

kirk

Re: KM in a real situation?

I have been lucky enough not to have been put in a situation were i have had to use Krav. I am much more situationaly aware because of Krav.

I do have a fellow instructor that was attacked, sucker punched and was taken down to the ground. He stayed calm, eye gouged the guy. Once the attackers two buddies saw that, they backed off and he was able to get up and away safely.

Another guy I train with, his brother was attacked at a store. Mind you he has never taken an official Krav class just what his brother has shown him. The guy threw a wild punch, he 360 defensed it and then dropped a hammer fist to the guys nose. Breaking it, and knocking the guy down on his ass.

Just my 2 cents….

satilan

I know I haven’t been posting here in a long time (had to stop training due to neck injury) but I think my story illustrates the applicability of KM in a real life situation:

I was about 16, my KM training buddy (best friend) and I went to shoot some hoops in my old neighborhood. My old neighborhood is, all together, a quiet and peaceful place but sometimes kid-gangs from the adjacent neighborhoods would come to ruin it for everyone.

And so it happened that a band of about 10-15 young guys (ages 12-15) entered the basketball court. Everyone else knew they had to leave – but my buddy and I stayed. Why would two 16 year-olds leave when a bunch of “kids” come in?