Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hi

I am an IKMF Instructor and really impressed by Krav Maga generally, (especially after teaching traditionl arts for 14 years). My question to the forum is basically is there much difference between the techniques and tactics of the different organisations.

I own the KMAA 5 DVD set and it seems very simmilar to my own instructor training but I have heard that the IKMA syllabus for example is slightly more grappling based.

Just wondered what the forum members have found.

Oh, please, please dont turn this to politics, this is a technical question.

johnwhitman

Somerset,
    I had to delete a couple of posts already. This question will inevitably turn political, so I’ll give you a quick answer and then, I’m sure, have to delete this thread soon after.

To my knowledge, the IKMA isn’t more grappling oriented than either us or the IKMF. I know that they’ve mentioned adding grappling material, and for some time (until the recent troubles) I was comparing notes with some of them. It was logical for everyone to update their grappling techniques in the aftermath of the bjj exposure. I haven’t compared notes with them in quite some time, so I guess it’s possible, but unlikely.

For us, we teach basic ground skills that we believe someone needs on the street. We don’t focus it on anywhere near as much as a bjj system would, and our focus is on getting up whenever/as soon as possible, so that you have more options.

Krav Maga Styles

Hi John,

Thankyou for your intelligent and measured reply. I am a new Krav Maga Instructor (I graduated under Eyal in May) and was so impressed with the system after teaching traditional arts.

In spite of the politics issue, Krav Maga is a great system and although I have not discovered it until later in my martial arts career, I am so glad I did.