Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Law Enforcement & Military Resources on Krav Maga Official Use in Law Enforcement

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Hello!

I am a graduate student in Criminal Justice, and I am writing a paper proposing a new model of police training in the United States for my Contemporary Criminal Justice class. I am proposing that martial arts training, in general, be a requirement as part of police training. As part of my paper, I am attempting to find the martial arts training used in other countries so I can contrast other methods with the current U.S. method, and support my ideas of improving the training. I am having some difficulty finding resources showing how Krav Maga is officially used as part of law enforcement training. Could anyone here point me in the right direction for resources that explain how Krav Maga is used in official law enforcement training?

Thank You!

don

Re: Resources on Krav Maga Official Use in Law Enforcement

quote huiguangmandy:

Hello!

I am a graduate student in Criminal Justice, and I am writing a paper proposing a new model of police training in the United States for my Contemporary Criminal Justice class.

What is the “old model” of police training and what is your proposed “new model”? How much experience do you have working in law enforcement? How much experience/knowledge do you have of the wide variety of law enforcement training currently available? What perceived problems or shortcomings are you attempting address?

I am proposing that martial arts training, in general, be a requirement as part of police training.

I would guess that some kind of martial arts or defensive tactics is currently a pretty common/standard part of your average academy curriculum.

As part of my paper, I am attempting to find the martial arts training used in other countries so I can contrast other methods with the current U.S. method, and support my ideas of improving the training.