Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Syllabus Differences between organisations

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Hi All,

I was trawling through the KM note book thread and saw a comment regarding diferences in syllabus between you guys and the KM note book syllabus.

I am an IKMF instructor and this set me thinking is your syllabus very different to ours (apart from names etc). It was curisoty as I hear talk of belts and levels and it is sometimes hard to work out how that compares with us.

We have 5 practioner grades (1-5) which are followed by 5 graduate grades (1-5) which are followed by (I think) 5 Expert level grades. Instructors are usually G2 up and at the time of writing there are 2 Expert levels in the UK.

whatever

sommerset,

Hi…Two experts? I though only one, who is the new one? Thanks…:)

Hi

No new expert levels I am aware of. Same 2 as for ages. Marcus and John.

Cheers

Paul

taikei

I went with IKMF based grading system first, up to P2, then to orange belt with KMAA base. Roughly 2 steps of IKMF rank equivalent to 1 belt.
    E1 being black so brown to be G5, Blue G3, Green G1 etc…

anonymous

Hmmm, Marcus and John, sounds like two guys from the NTC. Could they be double agents? 8)

I’ve only been with the KMAA and they have belts from yellow to black and then different degrees for black belts. Darren (the highest ranking) is a 6th degree BB and we’ve got some 4th degrees. I’m assuming the KMAA adopted the ranking system from the IKMA, but I’m not sure. What system does the IKMA use?

The level system sounds a bit confusing at first. I’m not sure what woud correspond to what. By the way, do the guys at the IKMA or IKMF still wear their belts? And will the new guys in Europe adopt our grade system?

Hi

Belts. No never worn one. The IKMF doent have any belt, just levels.

I know the KMAA has partnered up with a European group but I dont know anything about them or belts etc.