Frequently Asked Questions:

What is Krav Maga?

Krav Maga is the official self defense and fighting system of the Israeli Defense Forces and U.S. law enforcement agencies. This wholly unique and original method was developed and refined during years of conflict. Krav Maga emphasizes easy-to-learn techniques that have been battle-tested in real, life threatening confrontations. There is nothing flashy about the system.

What does Krav Maga mean?

The literal translation from Hebrew to English is “contact combat” or “close combat.”

Where did Krav Maga come from?

The seeds of the unique Krav Maga Self Defense system were planted back in the late 1930s in Bratislava, Czechoslovakia by a young man named Imi Lichtenfeld. Imi was a natural athlete, holding European championship titles in a variety of sports, including boxing, wrestling, and gymnastics. It was from his father, however, a famous and highly respected police detective and trainer, that Imi learned street fighting skills that he woud use to save his own life and those of his neighbors on the rough streets of Eastern Europe.

Prior to World War II, Imi was fortunate enough to escape from Eastern Europe. He arrived in the Middle East and began fighting for the independence of Israel. Shortly after the formation of the fledgling state, Imi was hanpicked by the government to create a practical, highly effective self defense and hand-to-hand combat system for the military. Keenly aware of the differences between sports competition and street survival, Imi developed the Krav Maga System, which was initially taught only to the Israeli Defense Forces, National Police, and Secret Service. Because of its incredible effectiveness, Krav Maga has since spread to the civilian population and is now taught throughout Europe, Scandinavia, and the United States.

What if I have no martial arts experience?

You don’t need any martial arts experience to start training in Krav Maga.

What classes do you offer?

We have three adult programs: Self Defense, Fighting and Fitness. These are the classes available to beginners:

Is there a belt system for Krav Maga?

Although belts are not worn in class, there is a complete belt system in Krav Maga:

  • KM Level 1 (Yellow Belt)
  • KM Level 2 (Orange Belt)
  • KM Level 3 (Green Belt)
  • KM Level 4 (Blue Belt)
  • KM Level 5 (Brown and Black Belt)

Note: Black Belt and above is by invitation only and require a minimum of 12 months training as a Brown Belt.

How do I advance to the next level in Krav Maga?

These timelines are only approximates and assume the member is training on average two to three times per week. (Please be aware that members progress through the system at different paces.)

  • Yellow Belt Test – 4 months
  • Orange Belt Test –6 months
  • Green Belt Test – 9 months
  • Blue Belt Test – 9 months
  • Brown Belt Test – 12 months
  • Black Belt Test – at least 12 months and by invitation only

Once you have trained for the required time needed to progress to the next belt level, you must attain a PERMISSION TO TEST FORM at our Front Desk. Prior to class, please give the completed form to your instructor. After training in each level for the required amount of time, members participate in a Belt Workshop and Belt Test.

Get Training!


For more information call now at


or fill out the form below: