The number one objective of Krav Maga training is self-defense. Many of the lower levels of training feature basic movements, punches, and kicks, but throughout all levels and especially in more advanced training, defense tactics are stressed. The ability to learn how to protect yourself against any kind of assailant is what Krav Maga is all about.

Learn more about the techniques and defense training at each level of Krav Maga below: 

Level 1

The first level of Krav Maga is full of introductory techniques and defenses. No training or level of fitness is required to begin learning Krav Maga, so Level 1 is all about the basics. Stances, straight punch combinations, and front kick combinations are all covered, among others. Defense training in Level 1 includes inside punch defenses, a variety of choke defenses, and headlock from the side. 

Level 2

Krav Maga Level 2 expands upon the basics learned in Level 1. Receiving your Yellow Belt will allow you to begin Orange Belt Curriculum. This includes learning more kicks, including side kicks, back kicks, and combinations, as well as more punches and movements. Level 2 defenses add a variety of kick defenses to your training, along with more punch defenses and choke defenses.

Level 3

The third level of Krav Maga training is often viewed as a make or break level. The techniques start to get more involved and putting movements together become more complicated and important. The headbutt is introduced and fall breaks are expanded upon. Defense training features high round kick defenses and the ever popular hair grabs.



Level 4

The training you receive before earning your Blue Belt will include some of the first truly advanced techniques you have encountered thus far. Level 4 is primarily made up of defenses, including various weapon defenses. Here you will learn how to protect yourself against sticks, baseball bats, knives, and even guns.

Level 5

By the time you take your Brown Belt Test, you will have likely been training for at least a year. Level 5 Curriculum includes the most advanced Krav Maga techniques and defenses. These moves are very specific and involved, and include scenarios such as defending against an assailant armed with a long gun or rifle and machine gun take-down. Once you have received your Brown Belt, you must continue training for at least another 12 months before getting the chance to receive a Black Belt invitation.


For more information about Krav Maga defense training and levels and how to maneuver yourself

through them, visit The Levels/Belt System page on the KMW National Training Centers website.

Get Training!


For more information call now at


or fill out the form below: