Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Best way to get up from the ground?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

I have been doing Krav for about 3 months or so, and we recently went over how to defend yourself when your on the ground (on your back) against multiples and how to get up right when you have a safe opportunity. It was definitely one of the hardest classes that I have been through so far but it was great stuff to learn.

Anyway…I was having trouble getting up from the ground quick enough before i got bombarded with kick shields by the other guys i was working with. Does anybody have a good link that shows the best way to get up fast? I am 22 and in pretty good shape, I just need a good technique to work on in my free time. Thanks a lot for ur response

bull1189

Re: Best way to get up from the ground?

It just takes practice to make it flow smoothly and quickly. While the technique is fairly straightforward, the first time learning it is hard for everyone and I’ve seen very few students be able to pull it off quickly at first. Particularly in a drill like that where your stress level rises.

My advice to you would be to just practice it as you learned it and then ask your instructor to take a look at you doing it before or after class.

kmcat

I think a lot of the technique depends on abdomen strength.

Not what you would develop doing crunches, but isometric exercises like the “abdominal plank”.