Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    belial

I’ve been trainning KM for about four months now and I keep hurting the last two knuckles (above my ring and pinky finguers) of my right hand every time I hit the tombstone, doing straight strikes…

(i’m sorry if the words I use sound funny: I’m new in this and my mother tongue isn’t the english language)

I know it is because I’m punching in a wrong way, but i don’t know how to correct it… I try to punch the pad easy and slowly so I can get the technique, but every time the instructor yells “One hundred per cent!” I go ballistics and after a few strikes I end up bruising my knuckles again.

I dont understand how come I can hit better with my left hand and do it so badly with my right, when I’m a right handed person… It’s really frustraiting because it limits my chances out there on the streets… and because it messes with my trainning…:banghead:

Have you ever had this problem when you were a newbie?
    Greetings from Mexico

belial

Re: bruised knuckles

by the way…
    when I say “bruised” I dont mean when the skin breaks (that hurts a lot but it doesnt really mathers to me) … I mean I end up with purple and swollen finguers and knuckles…

:(:

snakedoctor

Try to keep your elbows down for as long as possible while you are throwing your punch. I had the same problem when I first started and it was because I was trying to punch too hard. Remember to push with the back leg with every strike and turn your body. This will help you not lean in to the punch and put all your weight on your front leg.

Try to relax and punch fast and explosively. Don’t try to punch hard when you’re first starting out, because you’ll just be practicing bad habits. Power comes from proper technique, speed and explosivenes.