Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    freakpower

Hello all.

I am thinking about picking up a heavy bag to put at the house. I have limited experience in this sort of thing and need some advice.

I definately want something vinyl coated and it seems like a standard punching bag may not have enough give for what I am interested in.

I like the ones they have at my studio. The revgear ‘krav maga heavy bag’ here:

http://revgear.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=13&osCsid=cc9f9b77a9aae4573a3b470bdfae0cec

But, they are too expensive for my price range. I have found many other bags closer to the $100 range that seem similar. Like this one:

http://www.immortalusa.com/Product.asp?intProdID=363

Can someone explain these huge price differences or give some purchase recommendations?

Thanks.

clfmak

For general heavy bag info, scroll down on the archive- there’s a heavy bag question like every few weeks.

In regards to your question, one of the main factors in price is weight. Bags often run about a dollar a pound for an okay one. I’m assuming the Krav Maga is a 200 pound bag. The other is a muay thai bag, which is usually skinnier and lighter even though the picture looks the same (it says its only 100 lbs, which is still heavy but is most likely not what you have at your studio). I know a guy that owns a dojo and he said that he’s bought a few muay thai bags and they wear out fast. I’ve never worked with a muay thai bag, but mostly I hear that people prefer the standard heavy bag except for low kicks.
    Having gone through a number of heavy bags and wavemasters, I can tell you this: quality is cheap. By this I mean you should generally go with the more expensive bag if you’re in it for the long run. Buying a low quality bag and then another to replace it when it breaks is not a bargain compared to buying one good one.

problem-bear