Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Can a DVD teach me Krav Maga?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    sleek

First off, I’m brand new to Krav Maga. At this point I have only done research and what I have learned thus far is that I definitely want to get involved.

That being said, I have put 5 Krav Maga DVD’s in my Netflix queue:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000246SY6/102-8323061-6473750?v=glance&n=130

Are these DVD’s capable of teaching me Krav Maga? Or do I need to get into a training center and do it there?

kravmdjeff

They have those at netflix???

In short, the answer is no. DVD’s are good for review once you’ve learned the techniques from an instructor. They’re also good to whet your appetite in case you’re not around any training centers. But one of the things I love the most is the emphasis Krav Maga places on the importance of correct instructional methods on the part of their instructors. It’s crucial.

sexybaldman

Re:

quote \”KravMDjeff\:

They have those at netflix???

In short, the answer is no. DVD’s are good for review once you’ve learned the techniques from an instructor. They’re also good to whet your appetite in case you’re not around any training centers. But one of the things I love the most is the emphasis Krav Maga places on the importance of correct instructional methods on the part of their instructors. It’s crucial.

Question, what if, the technique on the DVD\”s are different than what your instructor teaches?

anonymous

Different? Like what?

emil