Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Coming back from elbow injury?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ronfromnm

Hi,

I started training in krav maga last October and really like it. However, my elbows don’t. I hurt my elbow sufficiently badly early last December that I took nearly 2 months off to let it heal. 2 days ago I went back and hurt the other elbow! The injury occurs when I’m the attacker w/ a knife. Today I can barely lift my arm over my head or turn a doorknob. I believe a big part of the issue is I’m 51… was in pretty good shape from crossfit prior to krav maga but losing functionality just from routine knife defense drills isn’t acceptable. My question is if anyone has suggestions on how to strengthen and increase my flexibility in my elbows to allow continued training in krav maga, esp if you’re “older”. I really love it and hate the thought that I can’t do this!!!

splatcat

Re: Coming back from elbow injury?

Hi Ron, & welcome aboard (from a fellow n00b)! :D:

I’ve gotta say, what you’re describing is one thing that makes me distinctly nervous, since I’m only a few short years behind you. I’ve been training in KM for about 2.5 years now, & (thankfully) the only real injury I’ve sustained so far was during ground-fighting. My opponent was supposed to lift his leg over & around my head – he (apparently) didn’t have that much flexibility in his hips, & instead nailed me with a heel-hook to the back of the skull. :OhMy: :(: I didn’t get upset at him, I knew it wasn’t intentional – but it still just JACKED UP my spine all the way down to between my shoulder blades… :thunbsdown: If memory serves, it took a good 6-8 weeks to get back to “normal”…

I’ve said all of that to say that I don’t have a “fail-safe” solution to the questions you’ve posed, but I am looking into ways to minimize the risks and/or address the issue. I’m currently reading Martial Arts After 40