Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Student Lounge Completely lock-up

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    bruce

Hey Guys/Girls

I’m really interested in learning Krav Maga. It’s something that I’ve listed as my New Years Resolutions. I love the idea of been able to defend myself.

I’ve never done any form of self defense before so I am really new at this. I do have an issue though and I’m wondering if any of you guys experience it too and what you did to overcome it.

The issue is that when I get into a confrontation (something like been mugged), I almost freeze and become very fearful. It gets to the extent that I completely “lock-up” and am at the mercy of the other person.

I don’t think it’s because I am a wimp of anything, I just cant control my body when it goes into this fearful/anxiety mode.

How would I go about over coming this?

Thanks
    -Bruce

catapult

Re: Completely lock-up

Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Many untrained people react that way to a real-world violent confrontation. A big part of krav, maybe more important than the techniques, is learning to overcome those fears through stress drills, etc. It will all be part of your training if you go to a good krav school. That’s what really sets krav apart from the traditional martial arts. They teach techniques but they don’t teach you how to remember them when you are scared and tired and someone is trying to hurt you.

bear34

quote catapult:

Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Many untrained people react that way to a real-world violent confrontation. A big part of krav, maybe more important than the techniques, is learning to overcome those fears through stress drills, etc. It will all be part of your training if you go to a good krav school. That’s what really sets krav apart from the traditional martial arts. They teach techniques but they don’t teach you how to remember them when you are scared and tired and someone is trying to hurt you.

Nicely stated.