Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Creative/fun warmups?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    edsko

Hiya guys,

As an instructor, I try to vary my warmups to keep students from getting bored. However, the space in our gym is limited and so is my inventiveness 🙂 I’d appreciate if anyone could recommend fun/creative warmups, warmups they enjoy doing or warmups they enjoy giving students (I realize these may not be the same sets of warmups! 🙂 Our lessons are 1.5 hours so usually the warmup takes somewhere between 20 and 30 minutes.

Thanks!

johnl-d11

Re: Creative/fun warmups?

Burpees, lots of em. That will get the body warmed up. 🙂

I usually warm up my class with a lap around our building, (about a minute jog), come in for 30 squats, 30 push ups, lots of lunges, 10-20 burpees, some bear crawls, some static and dynamic stretching. Then partner into 2’s.. one with mitts on, mitt holder calls 2 numbers (1 through 8).. first number is punches, 2nd number is push ups. each person does 2-3 mins.

Team pushups (either double head to head or a whole line of people doing them as one unit).
    Pyramids (running from one end of the room to the other, doing 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc., up to sets of 10 each stop, pushups and then squats or crunches).
    County Fair (six or seven minute long exercises that you have to rotate a person at a time through the circuit; what’s great about this one is that everyone has at least one exercise they dread, so they can work at it.)
    Sled dog (jumprope around one person’s waist, another person or more holds the ends of the rope while the ‘dog’ pulls them from one end of the room to the other.)

crazy-train