Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Differences in fitness from Level 1 to Level 2?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    vincia1

Greetings, all. I am a beginner who will likely test within a few weeks. Can anyone speak to whether there is a significant difference in the fitness part of the class when one makes it to Level 2 (e.g., more repetitions, more difficult exercises, etc.)?

I have compared the curriculum for a Level 1 student vs. Level 2, and since many more advanced elements are introduced in Level 2, I was wondering if the fitness portion is cranked up a notch as well.

Thanks!
    -Vince

carpecanis

Re: Differences in fitness from Level 1 to Level 2?

The fitness portion of the L2 class is just as intense, but it’s a lot shorter than it is in the L1 class. L2 has a lot more techniques to learn and so more class time is devoted to learning and not getting fit.

You’ll see a lot of L2 students continuing to take L1 classes simply for the conditioning. I’ve also seen many students sucking wind during the L2 test because they only took L2 classes and didn’t keep up their L1 fitness levels.

jacgue36

I’m currently learning the level 4 curriculum. I have found that as I have progressed, the higher level classes, generally, require less physical intensity. Sometimes, when I have only taken a level 2 class or above, I have felt like I haven’t really gotten a “real” workout. I think that part of it, is the fact that the level one combatives are so physically demanding and intense.

It is important to maintain or even improve you conditioning as you progress because you will certainly need it for your testing. As you test the next belt, you don’t just review what you learned at the level you just completed but must review all the combatives and self defense techniques of the lower levels.

sicpuppy

I dunno Jacgue… My instructor is a fitness freak!!!