Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Disrespect of TM dojo Sensei’s/Master

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    jl

I don’t know that I have ever started a thread on this forum. But I feel pretty good about it die to the show of respect to each other and those that are not from this system.

I’m wondering if some of the other Instructors around the country have any problems(rudeness to KM students, Instructors) with Traditional Martial Arts Dojo’s?

I have a supposed Master in a TMA (traditional Martial Arts) dojo that is rude to my students, rude sometimes to myself, and just generally does not have a huge amount of respect for Krav Maga. He says that we do things mechanically incorrect, and we should use more kata type training to “Refine” the technique. I explained that KM training is for people that want to be able to protect themselves and haven’t the time to learn forms or other complicated technique, for this is a reality based system using gross motor movements, which can be learned quickly and is quite good at providing such a system as to protect onesself. So in the end, he has no real reason to be this way, we use dojo etiquette at all times, and my students are respectful of the TM students.

My feeling from this guy is that there could be some envy of how many new students sign up each month for Krav Classes. I can’t remember when someone came in to sign up for his classes while KM was there. That and I think he maybe just a little immature on a personal front as well as from a business perspective.(i.e. changing the cost for rent several times in less than a year).
    I am currently looking into another place with whom I have a good realationship with the owner. I just thought I would throw this out to you to see if this is an isolated case or is it happening more than we know! JL

jl

Re: Disrespect of TM dojo Sensei’s/Master