Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums KM Techniques & Krav Maga Books Does Krav Need The Startle Flinch?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    jjester

Lately I’ve been cross-training at another school (I can’t afford Krav right now), and today we did some defenses based on Tony Blauer and the Startle Flinch reaction.
    It was…weird for me. It didn’t feel entirely intuitive, but I’m sure it’ll come.

I spoke to a more experienced student afterward and talked about my experiences in Krav Maga, and his main criticism was that Krav doesn’t work on initial, instinctive reactions like Blauer’s system does but always assumes that someone has gotten the drop on you.

I’m still a novice at Krav (little under a year of experience), but I wondered if the criticism was justified. Should Krav focus more on the initial reaction to an attack like using the Startle Flinch (or something similar), or is that just adding unnecessary techniques?

Thoughts?

co611

Re: Does Krav Need The Startle Flinch?

I’ll preface this by saying I have no training in the SPEAR system, but have viewed many of Tony’s videos

The Startle Flinch is no more than an initial reaction to an attack or attempted attack and by your own response, that it didn’t feel entirely intuitive shows that not everyone is going to react the same way. They make it seem as if everyone’s ingrained startle flinch is what he teaches and this isn’t the case.

Krav does have initial reactions, outside defense , inside defense, various kicks etc.

As an officer, my responses vary greatly on the situation especially if I have a flashlight, firearm or both in my hands…

coda-vex

My understanding of SPEAR is that it is not a “fighting system” so much as neuro-muscular response training used to help incorporate your fighting system in an instinctive way. That being said, I believe Krav does this on it’s own.

Iknow blauer is thought of highly in many circles. I did find the outside 90 thing interesting.