Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    jarcher

Hello…

I am lucky enough to have 2 choices for training near me, one in Attelboro MA and one oin East Greenwich, RI. I have never done any Krav Maga before, and I am wondering how to evaluate a school. Are there any credentials the instructors must have? Is there a way to check their credentials / experience / whatever?

Is anyone familliar with these schools?

Thanks very much…

Jim

g-v

Re: Evaluating a school

quote \”jarcher\:

Hello…

I am lucky enough to have 2 choices for training near me, one in Attelboro MA and one oin East Greenwich, RI. I have never done any Krav Maga before, and I am wondering how to evaluate a school. Are there any credentials the instructors must have? Is there a way to check their credentials / experience / whatever?

Is anyone familliar with these schools?

Thanks very much…

Jim

Can you participate in a few lessons before signing up? If so, throw on a pair on gym shorts and give it a try. You’ll learn pretty quick whether it’s a class you wanna continue taking, I think.

siayn

I think a key thing is finding out how many classes are available. I have heard of some Krav schools that offer Krav classes for 1 hour on Tues and Thur. Other schools have classes every morning and evening, every day of the week. The school I go to has Mon-Thur, morning and evening classes, and Fri-Sat mid-morning classes. With my strange work schedule this was important to me.

Also, find out what else the school teaches. Because Krav is such a new MA, many schools teach something else in addition to Krav. If you are looking for diversity, some of those schools may have a Krav instructor and also a BJJ instructor, and possibly allows you to take all classes for one price.