Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Gender segregation in the studio

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    ftgf

I have been training in KM for four years in Japan. The KM studios there segregate trainees by gender – females line up to the left and males to the right. They bow in then pair up with a partner of the same gender. More often then not, when there is an odd number of both females and males, the extra female will be told to train with another female pair – so three work together, and a KM “trainer” (all males) will work with the lone male. As about 80% of the trainees are males they usually are able to work in pairs. Due to the low percentage of females, they usually work in threes. This arrangement lessens the practice time of the females which results in lower quality of training. I feel that this arrangement does a disservice to its female membership, particularly as Japanese females are almost exclusively sparring with other Japanese females which simply doesn’t replicate real-world threats.

Any thoughts on how a non-Japanese female with very little Japanese language ability can help to desegregate this KM studio? btw – gender segregation is not practiced in all dojos in Japan. I trained in aikijujitsu
    and aikido in Japan and worked with both males and females.

cjs-dad
    Keymaster

Re: Gender segregation in the studio

hmmm Kokushi speaks fluent English, have you tried speaking directly to him about this issue?

ftgf

I did ask to speak with Matsumoto but was told that he is “busy”

enbljhe
    Blocked

louis vuitton outlet store well-covered

louis vuitton handbags

taikei

I’ll pass on to Kokushi about this issue.
    He’ll be in studio starting next month.

ftgf

Many thanks. He’s built up an impressive organization in the Tokyo area. The senior instructors are awesome – they train the females as rigorously as the males. It is mostly the newer instructors that don’t seem to “get it.”