Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    nixxon

I searched and for some reason didn’t come up with anything so I’ll pose my question here.

I’m new to Krav and have been using a standard baseball style groin protector. It seems pretty inadequate for Krav, it reduces mobility a ton, its EXTREMELY uncomfortable and is always moving around not giving me protection. What kind of protection do you guys use?

I was thinking of getting this, seems more comfortable and is designed for Krav type movements.

http://www.mmawarehouse.com/Shock-Doctor-BasiX-Compression-Short-Flex-Cup-p/shk-1001.htm

Thanks in advance,

Scott

cjs-dad
    Keymaster
    bradm

Just curious. Do you wear them on the inside or outside of your pants or shorts? I’ve seen them worn both ways. I usually wear mine on the inside — less embarasing if there are ladies around 😳

cjs-dad
    Keymaster

Honestly depends on what Iím doing and what class it is if I wear it at all.

When Iím teaching/assisting I ALWAYS wear one simply because when a technique is being demoíd on me ya never know when a groin slap might get a little too friendly.

If Iím doing fight class I like the rev gear one because its got a little more abb protection.

If Iím ground fighting/bjj I like a smaller one because I find the larger one is uncomfortable pulling guard etc.the bigger ones tend to cut into my thighs

If Iím taking a regular KM class I slack sometimes and donít bother but I try and always make sure my partner knows I donít have one on. The exception to that is with the baseball style ones you can just wear the strap and in a hurry turn your back to the class and slide it in if you need to.

And I have never worn one on the outside

nixxon