Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Hello from a doc in Milwaukee :) – a few questions

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    erdoc

Hello All

I’m very new to Krav Maga but have been impressed by the system’s effectiveness. Currently my background is in BJJ/Muay thai and am interested in learning something that is more street applicable. As an ER physician, we sometimes deal with very aggressive and intoxicated patients in the ER that require restraint. As such, I figured KM would be very useful in those situations and would like to eventually instruct the staff. Furthermore, I’ve had a few physical confrontations on the street – luckily I just carry mace and that has proven to be KM in a can! 🙂

I admit that seeing CKM on the History channel initially sparked my interest in KM. After reading the posts on here, I’m a little hesitant on participating in CKM. I would like to get experienced KM practitioner’s opinions on a few matters:

1. Despite the claims about Moni, are the techniques themselves effective? I could care less about what his claims are/background if his techniques work. Please, no bashing, this is a question based purely on CKM’s techniques

2. KAPAP – is this system a form of KM and how effective is it?

3. I will be traveling to Israel this summer for 2 weeks – which school should I attend for training while there? Is there a way to become certified at an Israeli school so that I may teach our hospital staff here in the states?

Thank you all for your time

Chris

kior

Re: Hello from a doc in Milwaukee 🙂 – a few questions

Hi Chris,

I’m a student with the IKMF. To answer your questions as best I can: