Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Welcome Forums Hello from North Carolina

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    towani

Hello all.
    As you may notice, I’m new to these threads and this is my first post. I’ve spent a few hours here this morning (hope the bosses don’t notice) reading up on some of the threads trying to take in as much as I can.
    I just took my first Krav Maga class on Monday at a new school that just opened up here in Raleigh.
    I have come from basically no martial arts background, although I did take Modern Arnis prior to KM. The Arnis class I was in was heavy with sticks and very little hand to hand.
    After my first KM class, and realizing how out of shape I really am, we did punches and stuff. I didn’t know any better, so I tried to punch the pad my parter was holding as hard as I could (I’m just 5’9″ maybe 140 – so not much force behind it, haha). At any rate, my wrists are killing me this morning, and my knuckles are bloody. Looks great in a professional work place – like I beat my wife or something. :angry:
    I’ve noticed a lot of guys on here say to use wraps, gloves and some say nothing to make your bones dense, etc.
    I am learning this mostly because I want to be able to protect my family and don’t want to own a gun (small kids in home), but also because I am going to India on a missions trip and will be going back many times in the upcoming years and want to be able to protect myself should anything happen.
    Anyhow (I digrese), I’m thinking I should get some gloves. I see the MMA 4/5oz gloves, but then I see people talk about wraps and wrapping with gloves.