Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Welcome Forums Hi there – Tyler Tx

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Where to start?
    Well I’ve been aware of Krav Maga for a few years now but never really had the opportunity to train in it or study it more thoroughly. I worked as a customer service rep in a call center for over a year and, due to the long hours of inactivity, packed on a lot of weight (always been a little on the heavy side anyway) and lost a lot of the strength in my muscles (used to love going to the weight room and using the kickboxing bags).

Anyhow fast forward to the present: I quit working for the Evil Electricity Company and moved to Tyler to get my Associate’s degree in Criminal Justice. I found out that there is a Krav Maga class here and took the intro last Tuesday. By the end of that class I knew I was hooked. After all, where else can you go and say that you wanted to die during cardio, took the skin off your knees, and bruised your knuckles but the time still flew by and you had a blast?

We have a wonderful instructor and each class is the most fun I’ve ever had while exercising. You don’t even really feel like you’re actually exercising because a lot of people see that as a something hard that you have to do. That’s not the case with Krav Maga. I leave each class grinning, feeling empowered, and wishing it had lasted longer.

My motivation for taking Krav Maga was simple: I’m going to be a LEO and need to know how to defend myself against someone that easily outweighs and outmuscles me whether I have a weapon or not. What I didn’t count on was the feeling of relaxation after the class and the simple enjoyment of movement/strength in the class. So far I’m only three classes into it but I know this is going to be a lifelong thing for me.

-Sasha

Oh and as a side note: Another great benefit of Krav is that I’ve quit smoking. Been a smoker for over 6 years and this is my 3rd day w/o them. :D:

kirsten