Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Home Training / Conditioning

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    steveg64

I am new to Krav Maga and 48 years old. My current conditioning is not going to cut the mustard. I really need some advice about training at home that is relevant to Krav conditioning. I am rather inflexible right now and certainly need a flexibility program too. I will need to start slow and build up conditioning gradually. Unfortunately I cannot afford the $35 per month right now, in order to access the material on http://www.maxkravmaga.com I wish I could afford it, but has any one got any tips for me please ?:wav:

wds2

Re: Home Training / Conditioning

You can always go to google and youtube for tips on yoga and pilates for flexibility.

For aerobic fitness, nothing works like running.

If you want to see quick gains in strength a simple program that worked for me is this: when watching TV at night do two or three sets of five push ups and five sit ups (or whatever number you can do easily). Every commercial break, or approximately every 15 minutes do that until about half an hour before bed.
    Each week add two to three more of each.

If I were you, I’d spend some time surfing Crossfit. Open source (read: free) fitness website with daily workouts, videos explaining just about every exercise there, and plenty of bodyweight WODs (workout of the day) out there. Just listen to your body, it will tell you when you’re training too much. Make sure you get plenty of rest, plenty of water, and plenty of good nutrition.

steveg64

Thank you, I like the commercial break idea, as I have tight hips that give me some pain from time to time. I think this is partly due to prolonged sitting periods on a soft saggy sofa. I appreciate your reply wds2

steveg64