Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics I’m new, and this is why I’m here…

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    dcgriggs79

This is long…

I’m a beginner Kravist…have been training since January. A year ago, I didn’t even know Krav Maga existed.

Last December, a friend and I attended an MMA event (XFC, for those of you that have heard of it). Prior to this, I had virtually no interest in martial arts. I noticed the fighters were being identified by their fighting style. At that point, terms like “jiu jitsu” and “muay thai” meant nothing to me. Being the inquisitive person that I am, I began hitting my friend with the barrage of beginner questions.. I was intrigued watching the techniques, particularly the ground fighting…

It was that initial experience that ignited a furious research effort on my part. I learned very quickly the political sensitivities in asking “which martial art is the best,” but I refused to accept the standard answer I kept finding. (“they’re all equal…it has more to do with the practioner”).

I’m cutting out lots of details in my journey of discovery here, but suffice it to say that over time it became apparent to me that there was a big difference between SPORT FIGHTING and REAL LIFE SELF DEFENSE. Even during that initial MMA event, I remember being surprised at the number of restrictions placed on the fighters. At that point, my research diverged into finding the most effective style for each scenario (sport, and real life).

A couple of weeks later, I was standing in a Krav Maga studio watching the class. I joined soon after and have been doing it ever since. I learned a simple lesson last night, though, which is how I came about finding this forum.