Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    eric-joyce

I am new to Krav and was wondering are there really any differences between the organizations? For example, testing requirements, training philosophy, etc.? Just curious.

rick-prado

The IKMA is Imi’s original organization which still exists.

The IKMF is headed by Eyal Yanilov one of his students and the KMAA is this one.

Check them out and see for yourself.

taikei

My first couple ranks were IKMF standard, then later KMAA.
    Since IKMF KMAA worked on videos and DVD, to some extent they are similar or same in terms of techniques. It has been years since, so there must be some changes.
    IKMF has 10 steps to reach what is equivalent to first degree black belt.

IKMF and IKMA

Hi

I think by and the large the content of both organisations is very simmilar. The IKMF uses patches to mark a students rank instead of belts and has a slightly different way of doing things. At a basic level techniques between organisations are very simmilar.

The IKMF reviews techniques fairly regularly so there may be more differences as you progress further up the ladder in terms of abillity.

I think the IKMF is less of a buisness than the KMAA. This may change as it grows, I dont know.

Oh and on a serious note, IKMF Instructors are of course better looking 😆

lotar

Hi Paul

IKMF instructors good looking ???? Not the ones I know bro !! LOL

anonymous

Yep, he keeps claiming that each time he posts, but I’m having my doubts… Come on, somerset, post a picture of yourself and let’s see… 😀

whatever

I have seen KMAA and IKMF test requirements, many thing was quite same years ago. Today, many things changed, as IKMF was changing a lot of stuff. I have experinced when Eyal is testing/changing things, amazing…

eric-joyce

IKMF & KMAA

Thanks for all your replies. The only thing I was confused on was the trademarking of Krav Maga, but that is another topic. Thanks again everyone.

vicious