Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    cyberidd

I’ll start with a bit of background. I’m a university student in Winnipeg, Canada where there are no Krav training facilities. Also, as a student I don’t have much in the way of disposable income, but I really want to start doing some kind of self defence/martial art. This leaves me with a couple options.

First, I have seen that there are Krav Maga video training programs (First Strike, The Best Defense, On The Edge, and Line of Fire are the ones I’ve seen available) that I may be able to convince people to give me considering the season, but my concern is that I won’t get a good enough sense of the techniques and how well/not well I’m doing them, and that it’ll be reasonably unsuccessful on the whole.

The other option is that my school offers discounts on school-run programs, so for $50 a term (about 3 months) I could train 1-2 times a week in Aikido, Judo, Kendo, Modern Kung Fu, Tae Kwon Do, or Wing Chun Do Gung Fu, most of which claim to have been adapted for practical self defence. My concern with these is that they may not be as effective in a real self-defence situation as KM.

So, what do you guys think, would it be more effective if I try to teach myself KM using the training videos, or is it better to just try a different system?

Thanks,
    Andrew.

hicklinc

Re: KM vids vs. other MA

i only found one location in canada regina sk

cyberidd

quote hicklinc:

i only found one location in canada regina sk

Unfortunately thats the closest location I’ve been able to find, although I’ve heard something about a location in BC as well. As much as I want to learn KM, I don’t really want to have to drive 14-16 hours a couple times a week to do it, haha. :(:

krujoe

Of those listed, I would recommend Judo. There’s nothing like being able to grab someone and place them on their ass. If they do Newaza it would be even better. My second choice would be Wing Chun Gung Fu.

maddogmean