Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums KM Techniques & Krav Maga Books KRav is best suited with boxing and MT

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    lions2011

KRav is a good system, I think it works best when cross-trained with boxing or MT. Many students I see in the early levels and higher levels have medicore techique on many of the strikes such as punches, kicks, knees and elbows. This is true from even watching the level 4-5 classes. I am in level 2.

Imagine if you had time to really develop your strikes with boxing or MT along with the street survival sense of Krav you would be very dangerous indeed.

Even watching the higher level students strike many of them do not properly have good technique in punches and kicks. My take.

I am no expert but I Can tell good technique from bad. In fact I am going to take some MT classes in a few months to really improve my strikes.
    What do you think.

stevetuna

Re: KRav is best suited with boxing and MT

I think that you’re kinda / sorta on the right track, as long as you distinguish between the sporting aspects of the other arts and the purely self-defense application of Krav Maga.

You can throw wrestling and groundfighting training (BJJ) into the mix as well. Knowing how to respond in the clinch or on the ground are important skills. Of course in a pure self-defense situation, we can use elbow strikes, head butts, eye pokes, etc. to help us prevail.

My background is boxing. When pressured, I’ll punch. I teach with a guy who is a TKD blackbelt. He will generally kick. Another instructor at our studio is a BJJ brown belt. He’ll want to break your arm or choke you out. We always revert to our favorite techniques.

Almost all training is good training. Best wishes!

kmman

It’s easy to get sloppy when the instructors push for intensity. Thats the challenge. I think working on your own to clean up your techniques is helpful.