Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Krav Levels/Rankings/Belts?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    gnb

I am new to Krav and am curious as to whether or not there exists any belt (or similar) system. I chose Krav because of the practical applications in self defense. If I only wanted to collect belts, many other options would have been more appealing. However, I can’t help but be curious. I see on the KMW webpage that there is a link for belt promotions which leads me to believe that a belt system exists. That being said, I train at a KMW “Official Training Center” in GA and the entire state is absent from the drop down list. Also, no one at my center wears a belt. Our classes are named Level 1, Level 2, etc… Are there some training centers that use the belt system (assuming it does exist)? Why don’t all KMW training centers do the same thing?

kevinmack

Re: Krav Levels/Rankings/Belts?

Krav Maga has had a belt system since its inception in the early 70s. It was adapted by the Judo ranking system.All stsudents start out as white belts.The rest are earned:
    Yellow
    Orange
    Green
    Blue
    Brown
    Black
    Then the degrees of black 1st dan..2nd dan…3rd dan,etc,etc.
    I think 6th degree and up is red and white. Then red belt is for 10th dan.
    In the mid 90s Eyal Yanilov formed the IKMF which used a new ranking system they designed Practioner 1-4 Graduate 1-4 Expert 1-5 Master (not exact but close enough).
    In the late 90s and possibly due to Eyals influence Darren Levine and his organization KMW created the level system but they also kept the belt system.Kind of a mix of the old and new yet they slowly stopped wearing their belts.
    All the other legit IMI lineage organizations use the belt system.
    Haim Zut Krav Maga…..KMF(Rhon Mizrachi in NYC)…..IKMA….Richard Douiebs org in France….K.A.M.I (Israeli Krav Magen Association)…and my organization Krav Maga Nation.