Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    biswajit27

Hi everyone

I have been training in km for the last 2 months..however i cannot afford the classes anymore..i was wondering if i can continue training at home.I recently purchased a punching bag and couple of km instruction dvds.How much will this help me?and will it be effective if someday i face a situation where i have to defend myself or my family?

thank you.

Re: Krav maga at home

I’d say it’s better than nothing, best thing you can do is get a partner to learn with you, video yourself, put it in youtube and link it here in case anybody wants to critique you. The chances that you’re the once in a few lifetimes geniuses like Miyamoto Musashi, I doubt you’d be able to learn by watching and assimilate what you see into well executed movement. No offense intended, but dvd’s are not a substitute for an experienced teacher and numerous partners.

biswajit27

thank you for your response.yes i totally agree with you there is no way i can master km at home by watching videos and practising alone..i understand that,but compared to someone who is not trained in any form of martial arts, will my personal home training help me in defending myself and my family against untrained attackers?will it atleast make me better than untrained attackers?

kmyoshi

You will definitely need a partner when training in Krav Maga. This training is better than no training and yes, if someone is untrained it will put you at a advantage but that doesn’t mean s#!t doesn’t happen (trained or untrained in KM).

quote biswajit27:

thank you for your response.yes i totally agree with you there is no way i can master km at home by watching videos and practising alone..i understand that,but compared to someone who is not trained in any form of martial arts, will my personal home training help me in defending myself and my family against untrained attackers?will it atleast make me better than untrained attackers?