Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Krav Maga Global students here?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

As the title says, are there any here? Perhaps from Sweden, ey?

Re: Krav Maga Global students here?

yes, I’m a KMG instructor, and therefor also a KMG student.

Hi on you gimgamgommetje! How long have you been training? Guess you have been with IKMF before as you have gotten as far as becoming an instructor?

I’ve been training since 2004 and teaching since 2005. I started with IKMF and when the split came about a year ago I chose to stay with eyal and join KMG.

Ok, I see. Would you say much has changed (in the training methods, curriculum etc) since the split between Eyal and IKMF? To me it seems a little like more things have been added to the system (more techniques/variations) and that the whole KMG grading has been stretched out over a longer period of time. Am I wrong?

The changes are not very major in my opinion. The system has ben evolving for a long time and it still does. Ofcourse it’s important to always be critical towards the system, test the techniques and adjust if needed. This is one of the things I love about krav.
    But it’s still krav maga and looks like krav maga.

The only big difference is the focus on prevention.
    I don’t think the curriculum has been stretched. It has changed quite some witch has to do with our perception of the most efficient learning curve and also priorities.
    defenses against attacks that seem to happen less common are moved further into the system. I’ve had a one weekend instructor update. I’m sure I still have some updates to go before I know how much really has changed.

I see. I like that you say prevention has been more focused upon. It makes sense, though I have not been doing krav maga long enough to have anything to compare to (what it was like before I mean).