Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Krav Maga Testing Styles (failed 1st test)

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    tscc4

Hello – first post to these forums. I started training in Krav Maga October 2014, to learn basic self defense. I enjoy the school, the instructors are Teakwondo black belts by trade. However, in researching different Krav Maga schools – I have seen different testing styles. My school uses Teakwondo belt ranks, and the first test is orange belt. The test has a written component (one page) and a 7 minute physical test. The physical test is about 10 different techniques at a non-stop pace.

I took my first test this week, but failed by 10 points mostly to due to insufficient aggression and lack of cardio. I had done the test in private lessons and did fine – but I did the “real test” after taking a class and I was gassed out. A part of me feels like I shouldn’t have even been allowed to test..

When I read in these forums I see students that have 3-5 hour tests for Level 1 / first belt. No way I would pass that! Are there different types of Krav Maga? Just curious, as I really enjoy Krav and want to make sure I am at the right place.

jjbklb

Re: Krav Maga Testing Styles (failed 1st test)

I think when you see 3 to 5 hour test,that didn’t mean an instructor tested each student for that length of time.Instead,that time interval included the regular class time too.My test didn’t go any where near that length of time. (…& I failed the first time also)

tzrider

At our school it’s standard for lower level tests to run about four hours and higher level ones to run six or more. There is no class component to the test. You’re there to test, not for a review. There is also no written test. I think our instructors’ only interest in pens or pencils is in their potential as improvised weapons. 😉