Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    petra

I’ve been doing Krav Maga for about four months, and I’m thinking I’ll be ready to move up to level 2 at some point before the new year (seven to eight months after starting).

Problem is… What I figured out through talking to the higher level students at my school is that most, if not all, seem to spend over a year at level 1, and they get told when they’re going to be testing about three months in advance.

I have no doubt in my instructor’s judgement, but I do have a good idea of how his tests are run, and I think I’m a bit more of an expert on what my body can handle.

So I’m trying to figure out how best to approach him about testing, and how I might persuade him to let me test the next time it’s offered (I expect he’ll be hesitant because it’s not how he normally does things). Any ideas would be appreciated.

kravjitsu

Re: Level 1 Testing

A year at level 1??? Seems to me that 6 months is more common. Is this a smaller school that does not have a lot of upper belts (let’s say orange and up)?

One year just seems way to long to learn how to punch, kick, do some choke defenses, etc.

If I were approaching my instructor about testing earlier, I would ask him if he would ever consider someone testing early. If he says yes, then ask him what would he want to see in that person. If you feel you have those things, you could ask about how he sees your progress but let him know that you feel very comfortable doing those things. He may think about it and agree with you or point out things to you that you are not aware of.

oldkmdude