Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Student Lounge Martial Arts (JiuJitsu) in real world

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    kazak4x4

Even though this is not directly Krav, but close JiuJitsu, I found this story quite amusing and rewarding.

http://www.bakersfieldnow.com/news/local/37069754.html

I am a Krav student and have my 5 year old boy taking classes from the same trainer. So I am excited to see that all this training pays off for other kids.

sdkraver

Re: Martial Arts (JiuJitsu) in real world

quote Kazak4x4:

Even though this is not directly Krav, but close JiuJitsu, I found this story quite amusing and rewarding.

http://www.bakersfieldnow.com/news/local/37069754.html

I am a Krav student and have my 5 year old boy taking classes from the same trainer. So I am excited to see that all this training pays off for other kids.

Nice to see a real world example of “defense against a dog” which seems to come up once in a while in this forum, and usually not very seriously.

I take my 5 yr old son out for walks in a nearby canyon, and we frequently see unleashed dogs and their over-confident owners.

We were charged once by an unleashed pitbull that was chased by its two humans, who were shouting “stop!” “stop!” and “heel!” to no effect whatsoever. Thankfully, the dog seemed curious and friendly rather than aggressive, but it opened my eyes to the “what if” scenario that we hear about so frequently with pit bulls.

Anyway, on these walks with my son I carry a can of pepper spray and have one hand around it when I see an unleashed dog. I’m told this will have little effect on a pit bull but I will use it anyway, with, I guess, stomp kicks to keep it out of range, then hopefully there’s a rock nearby that I can pick up to attack it with.

Anyone have any experience/tips on fighting an aggressive dog?

kazak4x4