Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

I’m pretty sure I remember a few people here are also involved in MMA fighting. I’m about to start a Hiraido program at Ultima in Tucson, so I want to know if you guys or gals have any helpful advice to pass along.
    Thanks.

edmundich

Re: MMA advice

Make sure you have a year or two of BJJ and /or Muay Thai, Boxing, Kickboxing or Krav level 3-5 🙂

quote Nickolas Cook:

I’m pretty sure I remember a few people here are also involved in MMA fighting. I’m about to start a Hiraido program at Ultima in Tucson, so I want to know if you guys or gals have any helpful advice to pass along.
    Thanks.
    clfmak

I’ve seen people go from a strictly self defense program to a MMA one, and when they get caught in submissions or get hit with kicks, they say that they could have won if they could gouge eyes, kick groins etc. This train of thought can really limit your progress.

I have some boxing background. Here’s my plan. I was thinking of dropping KM for a bit, pick up BJJ, while also doing Hiraido. The Hiraido instructors all advise me there will be no need for BJJ because their program will have plenty. Since I’ve never taken Hiraido before, I have no idea if this is true or not. I sure don’t like the idea of dropping Krav, though. I still have a vast passion for it and it’s fun.

Nickolas,