Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    zanehx

Another lurker comes out of the woodwork. I am interested in getting constructive opinions.

I have been training Krav Maga for a few years and have enjoyed every minute of it. I have been fortunate to train in a few different schools with dynamic instructors. I enjoyed the training, learning new things, relieving stress, the comraderie, etc. But lately, my motivation level has gone out the window. I would not call it boredom because that is not it.

Therefore I would like to hear from others in the community on how you stay motivated or what to do to stay motivated in training. Also if anyone has encountered this I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the matter.

Thanks in advance.

clfmak

Re: Motivation?…

Do you have goals you can evaluate in terms of training? For instance, I train to be at least on par with friends in various different arts in sparring. Or when I was doing hand conditioning, I was working my way up towards breaking a red brick. This may be a little more difficult in krav, but I think the key to motivating yourself is to continually improve, and this definitely applies to krav. It also help to love training.

jay99

I would say try switching up your routine and set some short term goals. For example take a few weeks to focus largely on sparring or fitness training and switch up your routine to hit those classes. Or perhaps go back to a level 1 class and spend a couple of weeks helping someone new to the system. That way you keep up your conditioning but you break the routine a little.

Just a thought… hope it helps.

zanehx

Thank you for replying to my post. I appreciate your thoughts and advice and will consider your suggests.

giant-killer

Maybe your instructor could also think about mixing things up a little to keep people motivated. Doing some new drills perhaps, or going outside to train. Some new stuff to keep up interest.

jjk