Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    collegegurl

Hey guys,

I myself am very new to KM although my brother has been training for a few months. I have been considering training for some time now but am a little hesitant because I am a music major at college. I am a little worried that I could injure my hands during training and be out for as much as a semester. I was just wondering if any of you knew of musicians who has success with KM and were able to train without hurting their careers later on. Also, I have recently had some trouble with tendonitis in my hands and wrists, do you guys think that KM would aggravate and cause more damage?

Thanx!

runnergirl

I’m not a musician, but I have a family member who is a professional symphony violinist, so I’m somewhat familiar with the protective measures some musicians take.

I’m a runner and am very protective of my legs in Krav, instructors are generally willing to accomadate special needs in training.

As long as you are careful to learn technique before putting power into the move, and properly wrap your wrists, I don’t think it would be a problem. Hooks are the only thing that hurt my wrists, and that’s because I don’t take the time to line up my wrist and elbow first.

kneeander

collegegurl, I¥ve been playing guitar for about twenty years now, and I¥ve also studied music at M.I. in L.A. I¥ve been training Krav Maga now for three years and I haven¥t injured my fingers yet. Sometimes though, I alter certain techniques to limit the risk of hurting my fingers. Also to be focused at training on what you¥re doing, helps limit injuries.
    About the tendonitis problems you¥ve had, do they have anything to do
    with that you pratice to long without breaks? A lot of my friends who practice