Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics need advice on punching bags

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    g-v

Hi there, long time lurker, first time poster. 8)

I want to purchase a free-standing punching bag that I could put in my garage and abuse daily. Hence, it’s gotta be something durable. Also, spouse won’t let me shell out too much money on it, so it’s gotta be not too pricey, like under $130 or so.

Any recs, opinions, etc would be nice. I googled ‘free standing punching bags’, got alot of hits for Century Wavemaster bags. Anyone have one of those? They seem to be comparable to the bags we use in KM class.

btw, I’m Gene from IL, and have just taken my Level 2 test (and still don’t know if I passed or not).

Hi Gene,

I have a Wavemaster I use at home. Bought it at Oshman’s for about $100. It works pretty well, the base holds 250# of water or sand. I still have to chase it around a little bit, but that’s also on a slick ceramic tile floor. I’ve heard rubber mats help a lot with that but haven’t tried it yet. Other than that the bag works fine. Never had it tip over and it seems to stand up to punishment fairly well.

BTW, good luck on your test results!

xbmw200x

If you’ve been lurking for a while, you might know by now that most people on this board are annoyed with n00bs asking the same questions such as yours. Try searching this forum for what you’re looking for next time and if you can’t find it, then ask FYI.

Besides that, welcome to the board! I have a Century XXL Wavemaster I bought off Ebay for $199 shipped. Picked up 300# of sand for $20 and whammo, a great bag that is nearly impossible to tip over.

g-v

Re:

quote \”KrunchyKnuckles\:

Hi Gene,