Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Nervous about Krav Maga.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    mcg

Well I am new to the whole thing. Have not actually signed up yet.
    The other day I was passing by the Krav Maga training center
    in Livermore. I noticed everyone in the class was probably taller
    than 6 foot and totally ripped.

I’ve been interested in signing up for quite awhile, but I’m
    a 5’5, 130 pound 18 year old guy.

I guess I felt pretty intimidated.

is my size an issue?

bulb98930

Re: Nervous about Krav Maga.

You shouldn’t be I’m 5’4″ and used to be the only girl for the first month or so I started (July)…most of the people at my class train hard and have fun. You should give it a try, most places give you a trial class to decide if you want to continue

don

quote Mcg:

is my size an issue?

Size matters – but it’s not everything. You should not let your physical stature stop you from training! Sigung Bruce was not much bigger than you. There are a LOT of professional muay thai fighters in Thailand around your size. Also, look at the 145 weight classes in MMA competition!

I’ve got a buddy whom I’ve never tapped out in BJJ. He’s tapped me out plenty. And I’ve got maybe an inch or two and 50 lbs on him!

There are always going to be guys out there who can eat my lunch. The more I train, the less of them there will be… As I’ve said before, if you never take that first step, you’ll never get any better…

sdkraver

quote Mcg:

is my size an issue?

Your size will be a factor, but it shouldn’t be a deal killer. Every time I get intimidated by a big and strong student, I get inspired by the 90# females in our class.

The way I see it, it’s a privilege when I get to work with bigger and stronger people, I’m the one getting the more rigorous training at that point.

jesse